James Joyce

You are my only love. You have me completely in your power. I know and feel that if I am to write anything fine or noble in the future I shall do so only by listening to the doors of your heart. ... I love you deeply and truly, Nora. ... There is not a particle of my love that is not yours. ... If you would only let me I would speak to you of everything in my mind but sometimes I fancy from your look that you would only be bored by me. Anyhow, Nora, I love you. I cannot live without you.


I would like to give you everything that is mine, any knowledge I have (little as it is) any emotions I myself feel or have felt, any likes or dislikes I have, any hopes I have or remorse. I would like to go through life side by side with you, telling you more and more until we grew to be one being together until the hour should come for us to die. Even now the tears rush to my eyes and sobs choke my throat as I write this. Nora, we have only one short life in which to love. O my darling be only a little kinder to me, bear with me a little even if I am inconsiderate and unmanageable and believe me we will be happy together. Let me love you in my own way. Let me have your heart always close to mine to hear every throb of my life, every sorrow, every joy.

 

- James Joyce, Written for Nora Barnacle on 25 October 1909.

 

(Som ni ser så har jag nu en ny kategori "Love letters of great men"



Alla kommentarer som anses kränkande mot mig eller mina nära tas bort.
Kom ihåg att ingen är anonym, alla IP-nummer loggas.

Namn:
Spara uppgifter?

E-post: (publiceras ej)

Blogg:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0